Skip To Main Content
MKA Inducts 22 Seniors Into the Cum Laude Society

Twenty-two seniors from the MKA Class of 2024 were inducted into the Cum Laude Society on Monday, April 29. Established in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is modeled on the Phi Beta Kappa Collegiate National Honor Society and recognizes the scholastic achievement of secondary school students. It is the highest academic honor bestowed on members of the graduating class. The Cum Laude selection process relies both on a record of academic excellence and on nominations from the academic departments that reflect the character of students’ engagement with teaching and learning.

At the evening event, Luke Sarsfield ’91, an alumnus, Cum Laude Society member, and the Board of Trustees Vice President emphasized the fundamental importance of scholarship and academic excellence at MKA. He highlighted the school's dedication to fostering rigorous and ethical academic standards among its students and alumni, noting that “the first word of our motto, ‘Knowledge’ highlights the importance of the academic endeavors that take place here.”  

Luke commended the newest inductees for their achievements, acknowledging their contribution to elevating the Academy's already high standards. He said, “You are role models for your peers and for future students, and I can tell from my conversations with our faculty, that they are intensely proud of both your academic achievements and the incredible people and leaders you have grown to be.” He also emphasized the crucial support of the students by their families and the faculty at MKA and offered congratulations to them as well.

While each student inducted into the Cum Laude Society possesses unique strengths and interests, collectively they have demonstrated an unwavering commitment to their academic journey at MKA. Congratulations to all!

First Row (L to R): Ellis Fertig, Kaavya Krishnan, Devin Ramsay, Sebastian Gonzalez, Gary Hu, Alexander Abdulhayoglu

Middle Row (L to R): Naya Saker, Emma Choy, Hilal Tokat, Hannah Ewing, Eunice Fernandez, Elias Solomon, Zachary Goyal, Gary Zhutian Gao

Back Row (L to R): Margaret Horn, Olga Shandarivska, Alana Arcilla, Kellen levers, Leyna Greenberg, Catherine Williams, Stephen Hatfield, Cyrus Rosenberg